Pray for Meredith

Archive for July 9th, 2009

I THREATNED to observe the strict decree
Of my deare God with all my power and might :
But I was told by one, it could not be ;
Yet I might trust in God to be my light.

Then will I trust, said I, in him alone.
Nay, ev’n to trust in him, was also his :
We must confesse, that nothing is our own.
Then I confesse that he my succour is :

But to have nought is ours, not to confesse
That we have nought.   I stood amaz’d at this,
Much troubled, till I heard a friend expresse,
That all things were more ours by being his.

What Adam had, and forfeited for all,
Christ keepeth now, who cannot fail or fall.

Build-a-Bear was a great success today.  Meredith was so happy being out, riding in the van and the walking the mall.  Yes, I said Walking!  She is doing more and more of it on her own without even holding a hand.  She picked out a zebra, dressed it in pink and named it Larry, after her recreational therapist who was with us.

Meredith continues to improve in speech, too.  She was answering questions accurately and quickly, writing some words, and doing some simple addition and subtraction today.

She’s doing better taking her medicines.  We’ve now started a sticker collection that she adds to after taking them.  The phenobarbitol will be finished up tomorrow!

I’ve been thinking lately of the question that hounded me in the early days and weeks of this journey; one that most people have desperately asked in times of deep trial:  How did I get here?  How did this happen?  Now I am asking that same question out of my daily amazement at this miracle.   How can every day be better for her than the one before?   Only in God’s compassion and power and only for His glory.


Meredith’s story

Eight year old Meredith has been in the hospital since April 27th, first in a medically induced coma and now for continued occupational and physical therapy. The doctors were baffled for over 3 weeks and didn't know what had caused her seizures and illness.

On May 13, Meredith was diagnosed with Acute Necrotyzing Encephalopathy after being transferred to Cincinnati Children's Hospital the day before.

On June 1, after slowly being eased off her anti-seizure meds over the course of many days, Meredith started rehab. The doctors estimate that she may be released in mid-July.

Please pray that Meredith continues to improve and respond with her therapies and pray for continued strength for Meredith's parents, sister and extended family.



July 2009
S M T W T F S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031